Posted by: Kristin | October 16, 2010

On Writing…

I was once told that writing is a lifestyle.  It’s true. Writing is a lifestyle, a lifestyle that I have not really been living since college.

Recently, I have been questioning my decision to move to Maryland.  I’ve been wondering why I chose to pursue and MLS in Archives, when what I really wanted was an MFA in Creative Writing.  Why I’m reading about macro-appraisal theory and documentation strategy when I really want to read the poetry of Elizabeth Bishop or Brenda Marie Osbey.

Two years ago when I was thinking about applying for UMD’s Library Science Master’s program, I talked about it with my poetry writing professor, who said very wisely:

“You don’t need an MFA to write.”

Maybe not, but for that last year there has always been a paper or presentation due or some journal article to read or resumes to update or cover letters to write.  The practicalities and logistics of graduate school easily took over my thoughts and concerns.  And practicality was the reason I came here in the first place.  An MLS is a far more practical degree to obtain than an MFA, and if you want to work in a library, museum or archive, then Washington, DC is the place to be.  I suppose that I thought, armed with my MLS degree, I could easily get a job to support my writing habit.  But more and more I hear about budget cuts and hiring freezes in my prospective job market, which makes me wonder if my practical degree isn’t as practical as I thought.

Either way, I’ve been feeling the dearth of creative writing in my life.  So I have decided that I am going to make a conscious effort to get back into the lifestyle of writing.  Starting with this blog.  No matter what I will post at least once a week about something I did or observed during the week, endeavoring to observe the essential, knowing that:

“It is only with the heart that one can see rightly; what is essential is invisible to the eye.” –The Little Prince, Antoine de Saint-Exupery


Responses

  1. I know exactly what you mean! A lot of conservators, myself included, are artists who chose to get conservations MAs because it is a practical career choice for artists than an MFA – then we graduate and there are no jobs! And it’s true that you don’t need an MFA to write. As you may know, I plan to make my millions off of mystery novels about a historical crime-investigating conservator!

  2. I would so buy that book!

  3. As we discussed the other evening, I followed the same basic logic you did when I chose to apply to MLS programs–this is a practical career option which will leave me to pursue my passions but not hinge my well-being on them. Part of me resents this concession, and another part reminds me of all the aspiring writers I know who did follow the MFA/Phd route and have nothing to show for it beyond a few token publications of little acclaim. I’ve never worried about this overmuch, as I’ve always written foremost for myself and know that I will continue to write whether I ever experience any commercial benefits from it or not.

    When I was completing my BA I never really viewed it as much more than something I must do to get a publisher to read my stuff, I was convinced it would stand on its own merit and no school or program could augment my natural talent to any degree which would shift the balance between “success” and failure. Those terms are so ambiguous when it comes to art. My mind has changed slightly as I’ve aged, primarily through workshopping I’ve realized there are refinements and skills to be acquired through academic training, but I still don’t consider them essential.

    I also consider how the nature of writing has changed in the past fifty years. With so many media outlets competing for public consumption I have to wonder if the manifestation of the novel as the pinnacle of written construction has passed. I wonder if there will ever be another great novel which impacts a society in the way the authors of the past have. Would Hemingway, or Dostoevsky, or James (any of them) even be noted in today’s sociocultural climate? Is there no inherent value in a literary work beyond being accommodating to the temperament of audiences of its time? All works are products of the time of their construction, but I question the potential (that dangerous word) for anything to be so relevant and so impacting as what has gone. I guess we’ll see in twenty years or so.

  4. Kristin, I’m really enjoying your blog and glad that you’re writing it. I am a lapsed poet and fiction writer since my college days. Sometime soon we’ll have to bring some sample stories or poems in for each other to read!

    We should talk about more opportunities for you to blog and do other writing at work. I know it’s not the same as working on your own material, but hopefully it would be fun and rewarding.

    • Thanks Jill! Both ideas sound great! I actually decided to start my own blog after writing a couple posts this summer while I was working at the JMM. Here’s one on the Baltimore City Archives


Leave a comment

Categories